I want to ask you something important. I want you to think for a moment about who you are.

No, I’m not asking what’s your job, or what you like to do in your free time.
I’m asking you who you are.

It’s pretty hard to separate the two, isn’t it?

Many people I know let themselves be defined by their job. Maybe it’s because our culture frowns upon anyone who doesn’t choose a career, maybe it’s because our education is fine-tuned to output narrow-minded professionals.
Whatever the reason, it’s still our choice to be that way or not.

I also used to believe that the art I create was the one single thing that could define me as a person. It was a crutch that I used to compensate for the fact that I didn’t have a strong personality in my younger years.

As it turns out, I grew up, and with that growth came a personality that I’m quite fond of.
There was a problem though, what was I to do with my profound belief that my work should define me?
Everything that mattered to me was suddenly rendered meaningless.

Now what?

It took me quite some time, but eventually I realized that you are NOT what you do. That you as a person are completely separate from what you do for a living.
It sounds so simple, but it’s also quite easy for a person to forget it. It’s a notion that evades the mind of many people I know, and probably yours too.
Not knowing this is one of the things that leads to someone becoming workaholic, self-doubting, and even deppressed with their lives.

Now, I’m not saying that people shouldn’t do anything with their lives. On the contrary, I URGE you to create something beautiful and fulfilling. I’m just asking you not to depend on it to be happy.

Life shouldn’t be linear. It should be organic, with lots of twists and turns and full of different experiences.

So go ahead, live your life, do what wish to do and create everything you dream about. But do it because you really want to, not because your self-esteem depends on it.

Cheers! ^^

